Monday, 23 December 2013

0062 - Terzij De Horde - A Rage of Rapture Against The Dying of The Light 12"

When I first started my blog This Noise Is Ours, I wrote a long-running series of features/reviews of Dutch bands because I loved No Turning Back and I wanted to explore more bands from the region. One band I came across was atmospheric/post-black metal band Terzij De Horde.

I got the chance to review this record digitally and then when I was browsing the distro at Feast of Tentacles, I came across a copy and ordered it straight away.

I think this was one of the first gatefold records I owed and is still one of the only post-black/black metal records in my collection.

The record features four songs:-

1. Prometheans
2. Vertigo: The Mithraic Ritual
3. The Roots of Doomsday Anxiety
4. Non Timetis Messor

Each side of the record features two tracks.

I really like the attention to detail on the LP. The centre stickers match the artwork and have the bands logo on, as well as the song appearing on each side.

The record was pressed by Antithetic Records and was limited to 500 copies on two colour-ways.

300 on Black vinyl (The first 100 were hand numbered)
200 on Gold Vinyl

Both versions are available from Antithetic and they're even selling test-presses. Head to their store here -

I strongly recommend this record to anyone who likes musical, forward-thinking post-black metal. The songs are expansive but also accessible.

Terzij De Horde Facebook -
Antithetic Records Facebook -

Monday, 16 December 2013

0061 - Veloz - Sleipnir 7"

Between writing about the Hexis 7" in my previous post and this record from Veloz, Parade of Spectres has called it a day.  This 7" was released in 2011 with the help of React With Protest Records.

Veloz are a US hardcore band from Boston, featuring ex members of other Boston bands Furnance and Genders. They formed in 2010 and have released two 7"s and a tape.

When I first set eyes on the cover of this record, I thought it was pretty menacing. The imagery is pretty dark.

Although these pictures aren't brilliant, the hand-drawn/written insert is pretty cool, especially the artwork in the first picture.

The record itself features five tracks:-

1. Wake The Plague
2. Killer Fiction
3. Yggdrasil
4. Demon Parasites
5. Second Nature

The recored was pressed on black vinyl and limited to 520 copies. They even pressed the RPM on the centre sticker!

Side A -

Side B -

You can check out the songs on this record via Veloz's bandcamp page here:-

You can buy the record from the both Parade of Spectres and React With Protest below:-

Parade of Spectres Distro -
React With Protest Records -